Red Dot Arms Illinois Concealed Carry Class Part 1 is designed to teach the basic knowledge, skills and attitude for owning and operating a pistol safely and shooting with a high degree of accuracy. This class counts towards the first 8 hours of the 16 required for the Ilinois Concealed Carry Permit.

Full Description: Illinois Concealed Carry Class Part 1 is at least 8 hours long and includes classroom instruction and range time. You will learn the following: how to shoot revolvers and semi-automatic pistols properly; rules for safe gun handling; pistol parts and operation; all facets of ammunition; shooting fundamentals; range rules; one- and two-handed firing positions; cleaning and maintenance; and safe storage of firearms and ammunition. The Illinois Concealed Carry Class meets the requirements for the first 8 hours of concealed carry in Illinois as well as the requirements for the State of Florida non-resident concealed carry permit.

Illinois Concealed Carry Fees

  1. The Concealed Carry Permit is $150.00
  2. The non-resident Concealed Carry Permit is $300.00
  3. A replacement Concealed Carry Permit is $75.00
  4. A name/address change to the Concealed Carry Permit is $80.00

Note:  A convenience fee of $3.53 is added to all fees.

(430 ILCS 66/60) Sec. 60. Fees

    (a) All fees
collected under this Act shall be deposited as provided in this Section.
Application, renewal, and replacement fees shall be non-refundable.

    (b)
An applicant for a new license or a renewal shall submit $150 with the
application, of which $120 shall be apportioned to the State Police
Firearm Services Fund, $20 shall be apportioned to the Mental Health
Reporting Fund, and $10 shall be apportioned to the State Crime
Laboratory Fund.

    (c)
A non-resident applicant for a new license or renewal shall submit $300
with the application, of which $250 shall be apportioned to the State
Police Firearm Services Fund, $40 shall be apportioned to the Mental
Health Reporting Fund, and $10 shall be apportioned to the State Crime
Laboratory Fund.

    (d)
A licensee requesting a new license in accordance with Section 55 shall
submit $75, of which $60 shall be apportioned to the State Police
Firearm Services Fund, $5 shall be apportioned to the Mental Health
Reporting Fund, and $10 shall be apportioned to the State Crime
Laboratory Fund.


(Source: P.A. 98-63, eff. 7-9-13.)

 

Illinois Concealed Carry License qualifications

According to 430 ILCS 66/25, The Department shall issue a license to an applicant completing an application in accordance with Section 30 of the Act if the person: is at least 21 years of age, has a current valid FOID card (if an Illinois resident) is not prohibited under federal law from possessing or receiving a firearm, has not been convicted or found guilty in Illinois or any other state of: A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the last 5 years, Two or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the last five years is not the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification, has not been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the last five years, has submitted a completed Concealed Carry License application, has successfully completed 16 hours of firearms training, including classroom and range instruction.

(430 ILCS 66/60) Sec. 25. Qualifications for a license.

(430 ILCS 66/25)
    Sec. 25. Qualifications for a license.
    The Department shall issue a license to an applicant completing an application in accordance with Section 30 of this Act if the person:
        (1) is at least 21 years of age;
        (2) has a currently valid Firearm Owner's
    
Identification Card and at the time of application meets the requirements for the issuance of a Firearm Owner's Identification Card and is not prohibited under the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act or federal law from possessing or receiving a firearm;
        (3) has not been convicted or found guilty in this
    
State or in any other state of:
            (A) a misdemeanor involving the use or threat of
        
physical force or violence to any person within the 5 years preceding the date of the license application; or
            (B) 2 or more violations related to driving
        
while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the 5 years preceding the date of the license application;
        (4) is not the subject of a pending arrest warrant,
    
prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification to own or possess a firearm;
        (5) has not been in residential or court-ordered
    
treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the 5 years immediately preceding the date of the license application; and
        (6) has completed firearms training and any
    
education component required under Section 75 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 98-63, eff. 7-9-13; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

 

Prohibited places in Illinois for Conceal Carry

  • School
  • Preschool
  • Federal Buildings
  • Government Building
  • Local Government Building
  • Circuit/Appellate Court
  • ANY PUBLIC PLAYGROUND
  • Any park/athletic that are owned under the control of local government
  • Clinic or Hospital
  • Nursing Home, Mental Health Facility…
  • Bus, Train/ Public transportation
  • Cook County Forest Preserve
  • Business that serves alcohol and 50% gross income is made from alcohol
    Public gathering / Public Event (may walk through to get to vehicle, residence, business)
  • Any Building or Property that has been issued a Special Event permit that intends to sell alcohol…
  • Place of Gambling
  •  
  • Stadium, Arena, Sporting event
  • Jail, Prison, Juvenile Detention Center
  • Library
  • Airport
  • Amusement Parks
  • Zoo
  • ANY THING RESEMBLING TO THE WORD “NUCLEAR”

 

(430 ILCS 66/60) Sec. 65. Prohibited areas.

(430 ILCS 66/65)
    Sec. 65. Prohibited areas.
    (a) A licensee under this Act shall not knowingly carry a firearm on or into:
        (1) Any building, real property, and parking area
    
under the control of a public or private elementary or secondary school.
        (2) Any building, real property, and parking area
    
under the control of a pre-school or child care facility, including any room or portion of a building under the control of a pre-school or child care facility. Nothing in this paragraph shall prevent the operator of a child care facility in a family home from owning or possessing a firearm in the home or license under this Act, if no child under child care at the home is present in the home or the firearm in the home is stored in a locked container when a child under child care at the home is present in the home.
        (3) Any building, parking area, or portion of a
    
building under the control of an officer of the executive or legislative branch of government, provided that nothing in this paragraph shall prohibit a licensee from carrying a concealed firearm onto the real property, bikeway, or trail in a park regulated by the Department of Natural Resources or any other designated public hunting area or building where firearm possession is permitted as established by the Department of Natural Resources under Section 1.8 of the Wildlife Code.
        (4) Any building designated for matters before a
    
circuit court, appellate court, or the Supreme Court, or any building or portion of a building under the control of the Supreme Court.
        (5) Any building or portion of a building under the
    
control of a unit of local government.
        (6) Any building, real property, and parking area
    
under the control of an adult or juvenile detention or correctional institution, prison, or jail.
        (7) Any building, real property, and parking area
    
under the control of a public or private hospital or hospital affiliate, mental health facility, or nursing home.
        (8) Any bus, train, or form of transportation paid
    
for in whole or in part with public funds, and any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a public transportation facility paid for in whole or in part with public funds.
        (9) Any building, real property, and parking area
    
under the control of an establishment that serves alcohol on its premises, if more than 50% of the establishment's gross receipts within the prior 3 months is from the sale of alcohol. The owner of an establishment who knowingly fails to prohibit concealed firearms on its premises as provided in this paragraph or who knowingly makes a false statement or record to avoid the prohibition on concealed firearms under this paragraph is subject to the penalty under subsection (c-5) of Section 10-1 of the Liquor Control Act of 1934.
        (10) Any public gathering or special event conducted
    
on property open to the public that requires the issuance of a permit from the unit of local government, provided this prohibition shall not apply to a licensee who must walk through a public gathering in order to access his or her residence, place of business, or vehicle.
        (11) Any building or real property that has been
    
issued a Special Event Retailer's license as defined in Section 1-3.17.1 of the Liquor Control Act during the time designated for the sale of alcohol by the Special Event Retailer's license, or a Special use permit license as defined in subsection (q) of Section 5-1 of the Liquor Control Act during the time designated for the sale of alcohol by the Special use permit license.
        (12) Any public playground.
        (13) Any public park, athletic area, or athletic
    
facility under the control of a municipality or park district, provided nothing in this Section shall prohibit a licensee from carrying a concealed firearm while on a trail or bikeway if only a portion of the trail or bikeway includes a public park.
        (14) Any real property under the control of the Cook
    
County Forest Preserve District.
        (15) Any building, classroom, laboratory, medical
    
clinic, hospital, artistic venue, athletic venue, entertainment venue, officially recognized university-related organization property, whether owned or leased, and any real property, including parking areas, sidewalks, and common areas under the control of a public or private community college, college, or university.
        (16) Any building, real property, or parking area
    
under the control of a gaming facility licensed under the Illinois Gambling Act or the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975, including an inter-track wagering location licensee.
        (17) Any stadium, arena, or the real property or
    
parking area under the control of a stadium, arena, or any collegiate or professional sporting event.
        (18) Any building, real property, or parking area
    
under the control of a public library.
        (19) Any building, real property, or parking area
    
under the control of an airport.
        (20) Any building, real property, or parking area
    
under the control of an amusement park.
        (21) Any building, real property, or parking area
    
under the control of a zoo or museum.
        (22) Any street, driveway, parking area, property,
    
building, or facility, owned, leased, controlled, or used by a nuclear energy, storage, weapons, or development site or facility regulated by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission. The licensee shall not under any circumstance store a firearm or ammunition in his or her vehicle or in a compartment or container within a vehicle located anywhere in or on the street, driveway, parking area, property, building, or facility described in this paragraph.
        (23) Any area where firearms are prohibited under
    
federal law.
    (a-5) Nothing in this Act shall prohibit a public or private community college, college, or university from:
        (1) prohibiting persons from carrying a firearm
    
within a vehicle owned, leased, or controlled by the college or university;
        (2) developing resolutions, regulations, or policies
    
regarding student, employee, or visitor misconduct and discipline, including suspension and expulsion;
        (3) developing resolutions, regulations, or policies
    
regarding the storage or maintenance of firearms, which must include designated areas where persons can park vehicles that carry firearms; and
        (4) permitting the carrying or use of firearms for
    
the purpose of instruction and curriculum of officially recognized programs, including but not limited to military science and law enforcement training programs, or in any designated area used for hunting purposes or target shooting.
    (a-10) The owner of private real property of any type may prohibit the carrying of concealed firearms on the property under his or her control. The owner must post a sign in accordance with subsection (d) of this Section indicating that firearms are prohibited on the property, unless the property is a private residence.
    (b) Notwithstanding subsections (a), (a-5), and (a-10) of this Section except under paragraph (22) or (23) of subsection (a), any licensee prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm into the parking area of a prohibited location specified in subsection (a), (a-5), or (a-10) of this Section shall be permitted to carry a concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area and may store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plain view within the vehicle in the parking area. A licensee may carry a concealed firearm in the immediate area surrounding his or her vehicle within a prohibited parking lot area only for the limited purpose of storing or retrieving a firearm within the vehicle's trunk. For purposes of this subsection, "case" includes a glove compartment or console that completely encloses the concealed firearm or ammunition, the trunk of the vehicle, or a firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other container.
    (c) A licensee shall not be in violation of this Section while he or she is traveling along a public right of way that touches or crosses any of the premises under subsection (a), (a-5), or (a-10) of this Section if the concealed firearm is carried on his or her person in accordance with the provisions of this Act or is being transported in a vehicle by the licensee in accordance with all other applicable provisions of law.
    (d) Signs stating that the carrying of firearms is prohibited shall be clearly and conspicuously posted at the entrance of a building, premises, or real property specified in this Section as a prohibited area, unless the building or premises is a private residence. Signs shall be of a uniform design as established by the Department and shall be 4 inches by 6 inches in size. The Department shall adopt rules for standardized signs to be used under this subsection.
(Source: P.A. 101-31, eff. 6-28-19.)

 

This class includes the following materials:

Handouts

Red Dot Arms, Training, Concealed Carry, Lake County, Chicago, Illinois

Completion Certificate

Red Dot Arms, Training, Concealed Carry, Lake County, Chicago, Illinois

Register for this Class

$125 Range Fee Included

Upcoming classes:

DayStart DateTimeSpaces
WedJuly 22, 20208:00 AM-5:00 PM11
TueJuly 28, 20208:00 AM-5:00 PM13
SunAugust 2, 20208:00 AM-5:00 PM9
TueAugust 4, 20208:00 AM-5:00 PM14
SatAugust 8, 20208:00 AM-5:00 PM1
WedAugust 19, 20208:00 AM-5:00 PM15
SatSeptember 12, 20208:00 AM-5:00 PM9
SatOctober 17, 20208:00 AM-5:00 PM16
TueOctober 27, 20208:00 AM-5:00 PM16
SatNovember 7, 20208:00 AM-5:00 PM16
SatDecember 5, 20208:00 AM-5:00 PM16
WedDecember 9, 20208:00 AM-5:00 PM16

Red Dot Arms, Training, Concealed Carry, Lake County, Chicago, Illinois, Illinois State Police SealAccreditation: Red Dot Arms provides comprehensive training classes. All instructors are certified by the NRA and the state of IL.

Subscribe to our training newsletter for news on upcoming classes.

images

Cost: $125

There is a $50 deposit that is non-refundable, but transferable.

Length: 8 Hours

This class consists of classroom instruction and range time.

Prerequisites: None

No prerequisite, but those new to firearms would benefit from Red Dot Arms Intro to Pistols.

Skill Level

Beginner
Red Dot Arms, Training, Concealed Carry, Lake County, Chicago, Illinois, Class, Goals

To teach students the basic knowledge, skills and attitude necessary for owning and operating a pistol safely.

Red Dot Arms, Training, Concealed Carry, Lake County, Chicago, Illinois, Age Requirements

Any age may attend, but those under 18 must be accompanied by participating parent or guardian. Prospective students under 21 years of age please contact us at training@rdarms.com.

This class is not a prerequisite, but simply a recommendation.   Mouseover the box for more info!

Red Dot Arms, Concealed Carry, CCL, Illinois, Chicago, CCW, Introduction to Pistols

Red Dot Arms Introduction to Pistols

$60

Recommendation

Red Dot Arms Introduction to Pistols

Things that you should bring to the class!

  • Handgun (larger than .22 recommended)
  • Ammo: 100 Rounds (please leave all ammo in the car during classroom instruction)
  • Eye & Ear Protection
  • Baseball Cap
  • Hand Sanitizer
  • Lunch
Red Dot Arms, Training, Concealed Carry, Lake County, Chicago, Illinois, Qualifications, Fitness

For the purpose of your safety and accommodating special needs participants, please contact us at training@rdarms.com if any of the following conditions apply to you:

  • Pregnancy, mental handicap, physical handicap, disabled, visually impaired, under the influence of prescription drugs, under the influence of illegal drugs and/or under the influence of alcohol
Don't Own a Firearm?
Rentals start at $30!
View Rentals

Why do we need a hat for this class?

The hat adds extra protection from ejected cartridge cases while shooting at the range.

Why do you recommend a firearm larger than a .22 caliber for the concealed carry class?

A .22 caliber is considered inadequate for self-defense.

Do you ever teach this class during the week?

Yes, this class is offered during the week.  Please check the class schedule. Read More

Is the shooting portion of the class done at the Red Dot Arms shop location?

Classroom instruction takes place at Red Dot Arms. The shooting portion takes place at a nearby location.

Can we bring our own firearms?

Yes, but ammo is not allowed in the classroom.

Can I take this class if I do not have my own firearm?

Yes, you may take this class if you do not own your own firearm. You can rent firearms for the class. Please see gun rental tab for more information.

Do I need a holster for this class?

No, a holster is not necessary for this class.

I have prescription eye glasses, do I need safety glasses?

Prescription eye glasses are sufficent; however, we do recommend safety glasses as well.

Do you offer any discounts for veterans?

We offer this class free to all veterans and all current serving military (DD214 or service ID required).

Is this a defensive shooting class?

No, this class covers the first 8 hours required by the state of Illinois to get your concealed carry license.  Red Dot Arms Training Academy offers a variety of classes that do teach defensive shooting.

What classes cover defensive shooting techniques?

  • Personal Protection In The Home
  • Personal Protection Outside Home

Is this class accepted by other states to get non-resident permits?

The State of Florida will accept this class to apply for a Florida non-resident permit.

Red Dot Arms, Training, Concealed Carry, Lake County, Chicago, Illinois, Disclaimer

Disclaimer:

FOID Statement: Illinois residents that will be TRANSPORTING their own firearm to and from the class/range must be in possession of a valid FOID/CCL card, and be of legal age, 21 for handguns, and 18 for long guns.  A FOID card is not required to participate in the class. Out of state residents need to follow the age requirements and have a valid ID.

We reserve the right to dismiss any student for unsafe behavior and/or failure to follow instructions. No refund will be offered.